The Seven Major Chakras

Hanging Basket Flowers

How They Influence Our Lives

Chakra literally means ‘wheel’ or ‘vortex’ in the Sanskrit language (the root of many Indian languages). The name describes the circular centers of spinning energy in our etheric body(the subtle level that comprises of various energies including electromagnetic, chi and vitality). There are 7 major chakras along the spine running from the front to the back of the human body. Each of these chakras has several distinct qualities and is associated with a specific body part and organ which gives it the energy it requires to function. Also, in the same way every organ in our bodies is linked with mental and spiritual aspects of health, each chakra corresponds to a particular aspect of our development and behavior.

The lower chakras have lower frequency vibrations and are linked with basic needs and emotions while the upper chakras have finer energies which correlate with our higher spiritual and mental aspirations. Each chakra is also associated with an element and a color. The first five lower chakra are associated with physical elements like earth and water while the last two (upper chakra) are associated with cosmic energy and light. Here is a brief description of how each chakra affects our behavior and life issues:

Root Chakra (or Muladhara)

This chakra is associated with the red color and element earth. It influences our familial ties, feelings of belonging and survival and cautiousness. Our earliest memories are kept here, and this includes whether or not we had a childhood of deprivation where our basic needs were lacking. If it is unbalanced or blocked, you develop low-esteem, become needy or self-destructive. When Muladhara is properly balanced, we feel confident, strong and capable.

Pelvic Chakra (or Svadhisthana)

Svadhisthana is associated with water (as the element) and the orange color, and it corresponds to your sexual and reproductive body organs. It stands for fertility, fluidity and creativity. We can also associate this chakra with creativity, abundance and pleasure in life. If it is unbalanced it can lead to feelings of guilt, emotional instability and harsh self- judgment. When it is in good balance, we feel positive, creative and can easily accommodate change in our lives. In other words we can flow like the tides in the ocean.

Navel Chakra (or Manipura)

This chakra is represented by fire and the yellow color. When it is balanced we have supreme self-confidence,self-esteem and in high spirits. Conversely when it is unbalanced or blocked this causes inertness, lack of courage and low self-esteem. By activating this chakra, we cab reawaken our innate personal power and be courageous enough to take risks.

Heart Chakra (or Anahata)

This chakra is represented by air and the color green. It influences our power of loving unconditionally, acceptance, compassion and forgiveness. When it is unblocked or unbalanced, this causes possessiveness, co-dependency and dysfunction in our relationships. It also leads to isolation due to fear of rejection. Stimulation of this chakra helps us to heal past wounds, have loving and healthy relationships and learn how to love unconditionally.

Throat Chakra (or Vishuddha)

Vishuddha is represented by the color blue and ether. When it is blocked we feel obstructed from finding our voices or truth. It may also lead to talking too much without listening to what others may have to say. When it is balanced our voices can communicate our emotions in a healthy manner. We also listen to others better and respect their personal truths in a way that is not judgmental.

Third-Eye Chakra (or Anja)

This chakra is represented by light (element) and the indigo color. It is correlated to intuition (sixth sense) and it determines how the other chakras work. When it is working properly, we are insightful and have inner wisdom to navigate through the challenges and choices in our lives. If it is blocked or unbalanced, this leads to distrust, narrow-mindedness, cynical view of life and being too over-logical. Improving on this chakra translates to us seeing the bigger picture, being receptive to varying perspectives and accumulation of wisdom unseen through normal senses.

Crown Chakra (or Sahasrara)

This chakra is represented by cosmic energy and white or violet color. It corresponds to beauty and spirituality. It opens our senses to understand who we are beyond the physical beings. Instead of being located in our bodies; it floats above the crown of our heads. If it is blocked or unbalanced we suffer because we believe happiness can only come from outside sources. Improving this chakra makes us feel liberated, whatever the circumstances or situation.