The 7 Base Chakras, and how to keep them in harmony

The 7 Base Chakras, and how to keep them in harmony


When considering Chakra meditation, the first principle to understand is that of the 7 base Chakras, what they are, and how to keep them in harmony. By doing so will help to remain free from illness and remain in balance. The chakras are found in the vertical centre of the body, and range from top to bottom, we will start from below and work our way upwards.

Root Chakra

This is found in the base of our spine, and is often symbolised in a red colour. This Chakra represents our grounding, and our love and loyalty to others (family and friends). Blocked energy in this Chakra is normally caused by anxiety around our basic survival instincts such as food, water or money. It also is impacted by our most basic sense of self, so by pain, pleasure and our sexuality.

Sacral Chakra

Moving up to the orange-coloured Sacral Chakra, found just below the navel. This Chakra is linked to our child-self. Resonating back to a time when we have a more vivid connection with others, and our willingness to be spontaneous, and accept new things and new people is high. As such it is also linked to innocence and being creative. Emotional issues with this Chakra normally centre on self-abundance and general well-being.

Solar Plexus Chakra

The third Chakra, given a yellow colour similar to its name is located in the upper abdomen, just below the heart. It focuses on our confidence and us taking control of our lives and any situations that arise. Essentially this is our parent-self (almost the opposite of the child-self from the Sacral Chakra), focussed on doing the right thing, self-esteem and our ego. As such it’s no surprise that anxiety around your sense of self such as low self-esteem or self-worth is what blocks the energy of this Chakra.

Heart Chakra

The fourth Chakra is found (unsurprisingly) just above the heart as is given a green colour. This Chakra focuses on our ability to love, and other positive emotions such as joy and peace. But it can also be extended to encompass broader feelings such as trust and openness within others. Naturally disruption in the balance of inner peace or love is what creates emotional issue for this Chakra.

Throat Chakra

Getting further up the body, we have the fifth Chakra, known as the Throat Chakra. In its name-sake throat area, and given a blue colour, this represents our ability to effectively communicate. But also our ability to speak the truth, express decisions and personal authority.

Brow Chakra

Also known as the Third Eye Chakra, the Brow Chakra is located on the forehead between the eyes. It is given an indigo colour and represents our inner vision, i.e our ability to focus on the bigger picture. As such it is also linked to our understanding of the divine, wisdom and intelligence.

Crown Chakra

This final Chakra is situated at the very top of the head – like a crown – and associated with the colour violet. This highest Chakra is about our ability to be linked spiritually and gaining total faith, alignment and devotion to the divine. Essentially to be at one with our spiritual awareness.